Piano Quartet

Movement 1: Moderato
Movement 2: Adagio
Movement 3: Allegro molto
Confluence (8') (performance by the Carolina Chamber Music Festival)

for Piano Quartet

My Piano Quartet began as a commission from the Carolina Chamber Music Festival, New Bern, NC, to commemorate their 10th anniversary in 2013. (I had been their composer in their inaugural year of 2003, when I wrote for them Halcyon Shores). Due to programming time constraints I was to provide them with an 8-minute work for Piano Quartet entitled Confluence, which they premiered on February 26, 2013. I conceived the music of Confluence in two parts, and these two parts would provide the opening (of the 1st movement) 4 minutes, and the third and final movement of the Piano Quartet (also 4 minutes). The middle slow movement actually made its appearance in Confluence as the binding theme, operating from an invisible place. Having completed the latter portion of the first movement, I now present Piano Quartet (“The River”). Confluence is still available as a standalone 8-minute movement.


Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano